ANVE: the private AI office, on the record. See what that means

ANVE

Offline AI in your language · updated 2026-10-16

Can offline AI handle Hindi?
हिन्दी in speech, text and translation: what the model cards and papers actually report.

Short answer. Mostly yes. Hindi is the only Indian language that Meta’s Llama 3.3 and Llama 4 cards name as supported, Qwen3 lists it, and AI4Bharat’s speech and translation models cover it. Accuracy still depends on how people speak. Whisper large-v2 had a 21.5% word error rate on read Hindi sentences (FLEURS), and a Whisper model scored 34.0% on natural speech in the IndicVoices paper, where AI4Bharat’s own model scored 15.0%. Treat every figure as a starting point and measure on your own recordings. As of October 2026, ANVE’s meeting-minutes maker handles Hindi, English and Hinglish in the development build.

01

What open models cover in Hindi

TaskModelsWhat the source says
Speech to text: WhisperWhisper large-v2, large-v3, large-v3-turboThe Whisper paper counts 12 hours of Hindi speech with Hindi transcripts and 5,438 hours of Hindi speech paired with English text. Large-v2 scored 21.5% word error rate on FLEURS (read sentences) and 21.9% on Common Voice 9. The large-v3 card claims 10% to 20% fewer errors than large-v2 across languages, with no Hindi figure.
Speech to text: Indian-language modelsAI4Bharat IndicConformer (600M), IndicWhisperIndicConformer’s card lists Hindi among 22 languages and reports 13.2% word error rate on the Vaani benchmark. It is MIT-licensed. Hugging Face asks you to share contact details before download, and the project’s GitHub page also links direct downloads. IndicWhisper, Whisper medium fine-tuned on Hindi, averages 13.6% across seven Hindi test sets.
Speech to text: natural speechWhisper, Meta MMS, AI4Bharat IndicASRIndicVoices paper (mostly spontaneous speech): Whisper 34.0%, MMS 38.9%, IndicASR 15.0%. The paper does not state which Whisper size it used.
Chat, summaries, draftingLlama 3.3 and 4, Qwen3, Gemma 3 and 4, gpt-oss, SarvamLlama 3.3 and Llama 4 cards list Hindi as supported; no other Indian language is on either list. The Qwen3 launch post lists Hindi among 119 languages. gpt-oss’s card reports 82.2% (120b) and 78.8% (20b) on Hindi MMMLU, a translated exam test, at high reasoning effort. MILU, a 2024 test built from Indian exams, gave the Llama 3.1 70B base model 66.97% on Hindi (5-shot). Gemma’s cards say “over 140 languages” without naming them.
TranslationIndicTrans2, NLLB-200, Sarvam-TranslateIndicTrans2 paper (2023), conversational sentences (IN22-Conv), chrF++: English to Hindi 49.6, Hindi to English 60.1; NLLB 1.2B distilled scored 47.6 and 58.7. NLLB-200’s card gives a CC-BY-NC licence and calls it a research model, not released for production use. Sarvam-Translate also lists Hindi.
02

Devanagari, Roman script and the Hindi belt

Hindi (हिन्दी) is written in Devanagari. Article 343 of the Constitution names “Hindi in Devanagari script” as the official language of the Union (general information, not legal advice). The 2011 Census counted 52,83,47,193 people with Hindi as their mother tongue, 43.63% of India and the largest language group. Uttar Pradesh alone had 18,79,79,055, followed by Bihar (8,06,98,466), Madhya Pradesh (6,43,24,963) and Rajasthan (6,12,74,274).

The Census puts 56 named mother tongues under Hindi, among them Bhojpuri (5,05,79,447 speakers), Rajasthani (2,58,06,344), Chhattisgarhi (1,62,45,190) and Magadhi (1,27,06,825). Hindi proper accounts for 32,22,30,097, about 61% of the group. The Home Ministry says it has not been possible to fix a criterion that separates a language from a dialect, so where “Hindi” ends is a judgement. For speech recognition it means your speakers may sound unlike the people in any one test set: the IndicVoices paper says budget limits meant skipping about 40% of the districts where Hindi and Urdu are spoken.

In offices, English nouns, rupee figures and names often sit inside Hindi sentences, and chat is often typed in Roman letters. That mixed form has its own page, Hinglish; the tests below apply to both.

03

What to test before you rely on it

  • Record ten minutes of a real meeting, not a read-aloud script, and correct the transcript by hand. Divide the wrong words by the total. The paper figures above are for read sentences and for one set of speakers.
  • Check numbers, dates and rupee amounts said aloud (“do lakh pachas hazaar”), and the names of people and places.
  • Check which script the output uses when a speaker says an English word: Devanagari, Roman letters, or a translation.
  • Play recordings with background noise and long silences. Whisper’s card warns that the model may print text that was not spoken, and its paper lists repeat loops and unrelated output among known failures.
  • Test speakers from different regions: a Bhojpuri-influenced accent, a Rajasthani one and a Haryanvi one (98,06,519 Census speakers).
  • For translation, compare the output with a human version of a real notice. NLLB-200’s card says its translations cannot be used as certified translations.
04

Where ANVE stands

ANVE’s meeting-minutes maker handles Hindi, English and Hinglish transcripts today. Every action item must quote the transcript line it came from, and a person must confirm each owner before the item is approved; each confirmation is logged. This runs in the development build: ANVE is pre-release, with no sealed unit and no customers yet.

ANVE has published no Hindi accuracy figure, so the numbers on this page describe the open models, not ANVE. A voice front desk that answers callers in Hindi or English is something ANVE could build in a paid pilot, on AnveVoice; it is not a shipped product. ANVE One’s launch default is a 27B-class model, Qwen 3.8 27B. Its card lists no languages, so the Qwen evidence above comes from the Qwen3 launch post, and the Qwen3.5 card, which says 201 languages and dialects.

A better Hindi model would reach an ANVE box as an update. At present ANVEAI installs updates on site, signed packages applied offline by USB are not on ANVE yet, and ANVE never updates itself over the internet.

05

Questions people ask

Can Whisper transcribe Hindi without internet?
Yes. Hindi is in Whisper’s list of 100 languages and the open model runs on your own hardware once downloaded. Large-v2 scored 21.5% word error rate on read Hindi in the paper, and a Whisper model scored 34.0% on natural speech in the IndicVoices test, so expect more errors in a real meeting.
Is there an offline Hindi speech model that beats Whisper?
AI4Bharat’s IndicConformer lists Hindi and reports 13.2% on the Vaani benchmark, and IndicASR beat Whisper (15.0% against 34.0%) on natural speech in the IndicVoices paper. The tests differ and the Whisper size is not stated, so compare the models on your own recordings.
Which open chat models officially support Hindi?
Meta lists Hindi as supported for Llama 3.3 and Llama 4. Qwen3’s launch post lists Hindi, and Sarvam says its 30B and 105B models give a large share of training to the 10 most-spoken Indian languages. Gemma’s cards say over 140 languages but do not list them.
Can offline AI translate Hindi documents?
For short passages, yes: IndicTrans2 scored 49.6 chrF++ from English to Hindi and 60.1 from Hindi to English on conversational sentences. chrF++ is a 0 to 100 overlap score, not a quality rating, and certified translations still need a human translator, as NLLB-200’s own card notes.
06

What is not real yet

No sealed ANVE unit exists; every image of the appliance on this site is a labelled render. The software runs today on a development machine. No customers yet, no certifications, no delivery date, and the final price is not announced.

Reservations are ₹999 in India or US$12 elsewhere, refundable in full until you confirm an order in writing (terms). Offices that cannot use cloud AI can apply to be one of ten design partners.

07

Sources